Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève announces new names in 2014 jury, including Philippe Dufour, John Goldberger, and William Rohr

After the fairs, it’s time to get ready for the competitions. The Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève (GPHG), regarded as the most prestigious award in watchmaking, has just revealed the list of jurors for this year’s awards.

The Grand Théâtre de Genève, home of the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève

Aurel Bacs, former head of Christie’s watch department, will once again preside over the jury, composed of collectors, journalists, designers, and watchmakers.

Aurel Bacs also presided over the GHPG jury in 2013. 

This year, the list welcomes three new names: Independent watchmaker Philippe Dufour, author and publisher John Goldberger, and Bonhams expert William Rohr.

Philippe Dufour won the Special Prize of the Jury in 2013.

The GPHG will present several prizes, but it’s the event’s top prize, the Aiguille d’Or, which brands will covet most. Last year, the Constant Escapement L.M. by Girard-Perregaux took home the prize.

Michele Sofisti, CEO of Girard-Perregaux, accepting l’Aiguille d’Or in 2013.

That victory means the brand is automatically ineligible for the competition this year, but its CEO, Michele Sofisti, will sit on the jury instead.

Participation in the 2014 GPHG is still open, and watch brands have until June 23, to submit their entries.

The watches pre-selected by the jury during the first voting round will have the honor of participating in the traveling exhibition organized by the GPHG.

The GHPG made its first visit to Dubai in 2013, courtesy of Ahmed Seddiqi & Sons.

The complete list of competing watches will be available online from July 15, and we will announce them here on Haute Time. For more, please visit the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Geneve.

Luxury Watch Trends 2018 - Baselworld SIHH Watch News

Subscribe With Haute Time